– Hello, thanks for answering to our questions. What are you guys currently up to?
Chris: We’re busy promoting the new album 7/Live ‘n’ Lethal, we have just returned from a great show at the Circus in Scandicci, Italy. We are also finalizing idea for a new promotional video for the new album though we are still deciding which song to do, in addition we are actively looking for shows in 2016 currently we have shows scheduled in Paris, Belgium and Finland.


– First off, could you make some history of the band?
Chris: We all come from the Mansfield/Ashfield area of North Nottinghamshire in the midlands UK, which was a typical Mining and Hosiery Mills community back then. Savage was formed by Chris Bradley and Andy Dawson in 1978, two teenagers at just 18 and 15 years of age respectively. We first made our mark on the local Nottinghamshire music scene by rampaging through covers of  our heroes such as Thin Lizzy, UFO, Deep Purple and Van Halen. We were also writing our own songs almost straight away the demos of which led to us being included on two compilation albums ‘Scene of the Crime’ and ‘Metal Fatigue’ the latter leading to an offer from Ebony records to produce a full studio album the result was the seminal ‘Loose ‘n’ Lethal’ the rest is pretty much well documented history, we are currently on our 7th studio album titled ‘7’ which is part of a double album package which features an entire live album recorded in our own town and feature the entire ‘Loose ‘n’ Lethal’ album plus songs from the other 5 and is titled ‘Live ‘n’ Lethal’.


– How could you describe your sound?
Chris: We have always been linked with the NWOBHM but we never felt part of that movement but essentially we write heavy riff based songs with catchy melodies, socially aware lyrics and shredding guitar work!

– What are the band’s main musical influences?
Chris: We were mainly influenced by Old school bands that we used to refer to suing the term Heavy Rock music and this included Deep Purple, Black Sabbath, Rainbow, Queen, Thin Lizzy, UFO, Scorpions, Judas Priest and then later on Van Halen appeared on the scene and that was changed everything, we also liked the Sex Pistols and the Punk movement but mostly for their lack of respect for the establishment and we still relate to that in our lyrical content now!


– How is the feedback for your new album being?
Chris: So far with the exception of one review they have all been exceptional and very complimentary of the new studio album, which is always good to hear, it’s just a pity that in the modern world due to internet access that doesn’t always convert to massive album sales.


– And are your personally satisfied with the final outcome?
Chris: Mark our drummer is also our recording engineer and he has done a fantastic job on this album, he has managed to capture the true sound of the band and yes we are really pleased with this one and most feedback so far is also very positive, so yes we are very happy with it.


– How could you describe this opus in just 3 words?
Chris: In Your Face!


– How has the production process for your new release been?
Chris: Well due to developments in technology it has made the process much easier and accessible for the smaller b4e0a1_e9b7c322587169e3f62a0f7ef176d8f4budget. However we don’t do fakery and bullshit technologies to correct mistakes and poor performance. The drums where recorded in the studio at York University UK, as Mark teaches sound engineering there. The rhythm and bass guitar tracks where then recorded in Marks home studio using a Kemper profiling amp which is Andy’s main stage amp set up when we play live. The Vocals and lead guitars were then recorded at the Old Library media centre studio back in our home town where lead guitar player Andy Dawson works with adolescents by introducing them to the world of the Arts (it was also where the Live ‘n Lethal album was performed and recorded in the main theatre there with the studio to the rear). The final mixing was then completed at Marks home studio.


– And how do you use to work on the songwriting?
Chris: The songs are basically written how we always have. Someone brings an idea to the rehearsal room and we play through it and kick it around as a band with various members contributing along the way until we have a rough musical piece. We then just record that onto a 2 track machine which I can then take away to come up with a melody and lyrics. We then do a demo of each song to get a feel for how it actually sound, then we play around with the arrangement and make changes if we feel it is needed or if a better idea comes up. On ‘7’ the spilt of writing credits was that half the ideas were joint compositions between me and Andy and the other half were co-written between us with contributions from either Kristian or Mark. In actual fact one song was co-written by all members of the band which was a first in our entire history.


– Finally, what are you near-future plans?
Chris: As I said earlier we are currently planning a promotional video for the new album and working towards shows to promote the new album in the New Year, In addition Hammer Heart Records are to release Loose ‘n’ Lethal again as a limited edition back to original vinyl album and a special CD version that will include the versions of ‘Let it Loose’, ‘Dirty Money’, ‘Aint No Fit Place’ and ‘The China Run’ taken from the ‘Scene of the Crime’ and ‘Metal Fatigue’ compilation albums and the Double ‘A’ side Ebony Records single


– That’s all from our side, thanks again for taking your time to answer our questions. If you now want to add some final words; feel free to do it.
Chris: I would just like to send out a special thank you to all our fans that have supported us over the years, you are the reason we keep doing this! Keep Rocking and don’t let the bastards grind you down!

Deja una respuesta

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada.

Highslide for Wordpress Plugin