– Hi, thanks for your time. What are you currently up to? How is everything doing right now with FRAGMENTS OF UNBECOMING?

I thank you, well at present we´re preparing for the release on November 30th, when The Art of Coming Apart will blast the record-stores. It was really hard work for us, especially for our drummer and soundengineer Ingo Maier, who has recorded and mixed the whole new album after he had done the mix and the mastering for the advanced demo tape. Sascha was very involved in the layout, logos and prints, after the recording-sessions. Additionally all of us have regular jobs, which takes much time. We are very pleased with the result of our new record of crimson melodic death metal art.

– First off, how did you come up with the band’s name?

It´s a verse from Darkday on the Spectral Sorrows – Album by Edge of Sanity. And, by the way, it is very open to interpretation.


– You have a new album coming out soon entitled «The Art of Coming Apart». What are your expectations on it?

To get even more money, might and world domination haha! No seriously, we are very happy with the songs, the sound and the whole artwork. Personally I´m very excited to listen to our stuff on such a great medium as vinyl for the first time. Moreover we are excited to perform the new songs live!


– «The Art of Coming Apart» is a really inspiring title for an album, could you say it’s autobiographical? I mean, could you say you are coming apart musically with your own identity?

No, we can´t see it this way. We love the old death metal stuff (and the new!), which we grew up with and this has always been an important part of life for us. The Art of Coming Apart means to me in a nutshell, becoming and elapsing of everything in nature and culture – the inspiring essence of life and death. But you´re right, the meaning has room for interpretation and that´s the way the cookie crumbles.


– Getting a bit deeper into it; what are the main ideas behind the lyrics on this effort?

The lyrics are written by Stefan, Sascha and me and they show different aspects of the art of coming apart without demand to be a conceptual album but with a common theme.


– In fact I could personally say this is a more complex opus compared to your previous «The Everhaunting Past: Chapter IV a Splendid Retrospection». Was this something you were looking for or did it just come out like this?

Actually we hadn´t intended to do so. However, we had more time for the album to mature. I think the whole record is an organic one with harsh, blazing and atmospheric parts and quite moments of melancholy, too. Contrast between grim brutality and sombre melody. The songs are diversified, so be prepared for detection!


– It’s also more brutal, which contrasts with the complex approach, creating a really interesting contrast. Are contrasts in music something important for FRAGMENTS OF UNBECOMING? As you have always also blended nicely brutality and melody. Due to this I would like to know how uses to be the songwriting process like for FOU.

Maybe this is due to the recordings taking place during cold winter days and hot summertimes. Seriously, this is especially to the credit of Stefan´s and Sascha´s brilliant guitar works and great ideas to write crimson songs. Furthermore we were not pressed for time by the label when arranging and practising the songs. When we say “wohooo killer riff” comes the arrangement together in the rehearsal room. The result of all this is The Art of Coming Apart.


– Once more your’ve got a really powerful and clear sound, in fact seasoned Dan Swanö mastered «The Art of Coming Apart». Are you satisfied with his work and with the overall album’s sound?

Thanks for the compliment! Our drummer and sound-engineer Ingo will be happy for sure. The cooperation and communication with Dan Swanö was great and enriching. He has the patience of a saint and does a great job! The idea to work with him was basically born with our bandname and our soft spot for death metal of the nineties. I think the whole record sounds more oldschool – in a positive way – than the albums before. Not at least due to using the legendary Boss HM-2 Heavy Metal pedal for guitar recordings and the decision not to go to a “modern” studio with an over-bloated but faceless sound.


– On the other hand, the superb cover artwork was again crafted by Sascha. How positive is to have an own member doing the artwork? And what does this piece reflect?

Such a brilliant artist like Sascha is all you can wish for in a band. He is printer/illustrator by trade and he has a lot of awesome ideas to artistically portray the dark side of being in a subtle way. We were all very impressed as he showed us the pictures. What is that? A fallen titan? An alien or a dying angel? An ancient god? Face of a carcass? In any case the cover shows something weird, something unsettling like our music.There is enough openness for interpretation left to the observer enabling her/him to draw individual conclusions. An important quality of a piece of art (of becoming apart).


– All this about «The Art of Coming Apart» being said; how could you describe it in just 3 words?





– We could say you have the traditional Scandinavian Death Metal sound but, what have been some of the most influentail bands for FOU?

Well, we are influenced by the Swedish sound of the early 90´s death metal. Very important for us were bands like At The Gates, Edge of Sanity, Unanimated, Eucharist, Entombed, Cardinal Sin, Dismember, Unleashed, Sacrilege, Dissection and so on… . Besides the Goteborg – sound as well as the Stockholm – sound. We seize elements of black metal and US death metal, too. As fans we like bands like Suffocation, Morbid Angel, Deicide, Death, Monstrosity, and Carcass and so on. Alongside we listen(ed) to some great black metal stuff like Wolves In The Throne Room, Enthroned, old Mayhem, Mörk Gryning, Emperor etc…too much great bands…but originality is important for us.


– And finally, what are your near-future plans?

Unpacking our new record, waiting for our new shirts and patches, after that to play some crimson rituals like:

12.01.2013 The Art of Coming Apart Release with our brothers DECEMBER FLOWER and DESERTED FEAR

23.03.2013 Sultans of Death with OBSCURA and DEADBORN a.o.

08. -10.08. 2013 Party San Festival with UNLEASHED and VENOM a.o.

Look out for gigs next year. Keep an eye on our websites!


– That’s all, thank you once more for answering our questions. If you want to add some final words; feel free to do it.

Thanks, you are welcome! All the best for your webmag´s future, your interest in us and for supporting crimson melodic death metal art!

Kind regards,








Bloodred Tales – Chapter I / The Crimson Season MCD 2002 (Sylphony Creations)

Skywards – Chapter II / A Sylphe´s Ascension CD 2004 (Metal Blade Records)

Sterling Black Icon – Chapter III / Black But Shining CD 2006 (Metal Blade Records)

The Everhaunting Past – Chapter IV / A Splendid Retrospection CD 2009 (Cyclone Empire)

Advance Demo MC 2012 (Fragments Of Unbecoming / Cyclone Empire)

The Art Of Coming Apart – Chapter V CD/LP 2012 (Cyclone Empire)


Sam Anetzberger – Vocals

Stefan Weimar – Guitars, Vocals

Sascha Ehrich – Guitars

Christopher Körtgen – Bass, Vocals

Ingo Maier – Drums


Tania Giménez



Deja una respuesta

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada.

Highslide for Wordpress Plugin